Post Page Advertisement [Top]

The Arjuna Award - Introduction 

The world of sports is a dynamic realm where dedication, passion, and exceptional talent converge to create moments of triumph and inspiration.

The Arjuna Award in India is more than just a recognition; it's a celebration of athletes who have not only achieved excellence in their sports but have also exemplified unwavering dedication and devotion to their athletic pursuits. Awarded annually by the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports, the Arjuna Award is the second-highest sporting honor in India.

History of the Arjuna Award

Established in 1961, the Arjuna Award is named after Arjuna, a legendary archer from the Indian epic Mahabharata. The award aims to honor outstanding achievement in sports and recognize the spirit of perseverance and sportsmanship. Over the years, it has become a coveted accolade for athletes across various disciplines.

Eligibility Criteria for the Arjuna Award

The Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports has defined the criteria for sportspersons eligible for the Arjuna Award. The ministry has established a committee to choose the recipients of the award. The following are some of the considerations that ensure the eligibility of the sportsperson for the Arjuna Award:

  • Consistent outstanding performance in International and National events for at least four years. 

  • Qualities of sportsmanship, leadership, and a strong sense of discipline

Furthermore, the Government only considers conferring the Arjuna Award in the disciplines falling under the following categories:

  • Olympic Games/Asian Games/Commonwealth Games/World Cup/World Championship disciplines and cricket or any equivalent recognized International Tournament.

  • Indigenous Games.

  • Sports for the physically challenged.

Note: Athletes who have faced penalties or are currently under investigation for the use of banned drugs or substances, as determined by samples collected by the National Anti-Doping Agency (NADA) or any other WADA-authorized agency and tested at the National Dope Testing Laboratory or any other WADA-accredited laboratory, will be disqualified from consideration for the Arjuna Award.

Pawan Kumar Sehrawat's Achievements in Kabaddi

If we talk about Pawan Kumar Sehrawat's achievements, he clinched the 'Gold Medal' at the South Asian Games 2019 in Kathmandu and added another 'Gold Medal' to his collection at the Asian Kabaddi Championship 2023 in Busan.

Furthermore, under the captaincy of Pawan Kumar Sehrawat, the Indian team clinched the Gold Medal at the 2022 Asian Games in Hangzhou. Apart from this, Pawan Kumar Sehrawat is the current skipper of Telugu Titans in Pro Kabaddi League Season 10.

Arjuna Award For CU Student and India Men's Kabaddi Team Captain Pawan Kumar Sehrawat

The Government of India annually recognizes and applauds the prowess of outstanding athletes through the prestigious Arjuna Awards. On 20th December 2023, the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports, Government of India, announced a list of winners of the Arjuna Award 2023.

Chandigarh University student and India Men's Kabaddi Team Captain Pawan Kumar Sehrawat is among 26 Indian athletes to get the Arjuna Award for their extraordinary performances in their respective fields. 

Additionally, we are bursting with pride as our very own student and India Men's Kabaddi Team Captain, Pawan Kumar Sehrawat, has been honored with the prestigious "Arjuna Award" for his outstanding contribution to the world of Kabaddi by the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports, Government of India. 

Furthermore, Rashtrapati Bhavan in Delhi will host the award ceremony, where Draupadi Murmu Ji, the President of India, will present the ‘Arjuna Award’ to Pawan Kumar Sehrawat and other winners on 9th January 2024.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.